Hurricane Alert! Batten down the nachos!

Well I’m in a fine fix. As I write this a hurricane is bearing down on Costa Rica and I’m not sure if hurricanes down here are the same as what I had to deal with back home in Alabama. otto-vis

If I were in Alabama, I’d be gathering food, beer and candles and making sure my propane stove was ready to go. Here in Costa Rica, it just feels different. I’m looking up in my English/Spanish Dictionary how to yell for Help! if I get trapped in mudslide.  One thing for sure. I’m staying the hell away from mud from the next few days.

I thought I was OK. I had plenty of food in the fridge and freezer and then I read that the power might go out. If that happens tomorrow I’m going to have one hell of a Thanksgiving Dinner, if I have to cook everything from the fridge.

I noticed that people are mostly just going about their regular business today, not panicked like people back home when they’re a day out from a hurricane hitting. The grocery stores haven’t run out of food like they do along the coast in the states. The locals here seem to be taking it all in stride. Pura vida, as they say in Costa Rican.

The one thing I did stock up on is beer, so I’m good to go.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.

About billjoehunter

Born and raised in the USA. Searching for $1 beer in Costa Rica.
This entry was posted in Costa Rica. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment for Billy Joe